The 4 Types of Yoga

5 September Sep 2017
4 classical types of yoga
Founder and Head Teacher

The true meaning of the word Yoga is “union” – union of the body, mind, and spirit with the Divine.

In India, historically, there exist four classical Yoga traditions, each one leading to this state of union through the use of different sets of tools, and therefore appealing to different human constitutions and characteristic typologies.

The four types of Yoga are Karma Yoga – the Yoga of action, Jnana Yoga – the Yoga of knowledge, Bhakti Yoga – the Yoga of devotion, and Raja Yoga – the integral “royal” Yoga path that specializes in training the mind.

types of yoga - 4 types of yoga exists in the classical tradition
In the classical Yoga tradition there exists four types of Yoga, each a distinct path of its own.

Through these four different paths a human being can reach the peak of his or her spiritual evolution.

They are like independent pathways leading to the same mountaintop, although in practice many yogis combine techniques from each of the four paths.

If practiced with seriousness and devotion, these four great pillars are ultimately a road to self-realization, or enlightenment.

We will explore each path individually along with the features that define it.

It’s More Than Relaxation and Athleticism

In today’s era we are witnessing an emergence of what we can call “modern variations of Yoga” – from Vinyasa to Acroyoga, Ashtanga to “Beer Yoga” (yes, the latter actually exists and combines Yoga with drinking beer), and more.

types of yoga - contemporary styles of yoga are not coming from the ancient tradition
Contemporary styles of Yoga are more acrobatic and gymnastics oriented. This is a far stretch from the classical forms of Yoga.

It is true that some contemporary styles of Yoga can be revitalizing and athletic in nature, assisting a person with general health and well-being. However, others seem to steer practitioners away from the true meaning of Yoga entirely, even going so far as to deface its sacred name and purpose.

If you are a genuine spiritual seeker, it is beneficial to understand the authentic roots of Yoga as a sacred spiritual science and to familiarize yourself with the aforementioned paths.

These are considered the classical paths of Yoga and are backed by tradition as well as lineage. They have time, history, and results on their side – virtues generally missing among the proliferation of modern Yoga styles.

Fortunately (or unfortunately, according to your disposition), spiritual liberation and self-realization are not discovered at the bottom of a beer bottle, but rather through deep internal contemplation and faithful commitment to a proven path.

Yoga happens beyond the mat, anything you do with attention to how you feel is doing yoga.

The Four Great Types of Yoga

In ancient times, a spiritual aspirant would choose the branch of Yoga that best aligned with his temperament and nature, according to personal qualities that were already prevalent in him as well as usually the advice of a competent guru.

In effect, his efforts had a degree of leverage and progress came as if by a kind of grace. It was as though there was already wind in his sails, so to speak, because the chosen path fostered his strengths and his strengths propelled him along his path expeditiously.

In the same way as a person would not choose to invest time and energy in learning how to play a musical instrument if she disliked music, a yogi would be wise not to choose a yogic path that contradicted his natural disposition.

types of yoga - each type of yoga suits different temperaments and strengths of the individual
A spiritual aspirant should contemplate and meditate before choosing which branch of Yoga best suits their temperament and tendencies.

Therefore, both self-reflection and self-analysis are vital steps in choosing which branch of Yoga to pursue for spiritual gains.

Are you a person of action? Perhaps you are more emotional by nature and chiefly motivated by the call of your heart? There exists a yogic path that can facilitate your advancement and evolution, according to your primal inclination or inspiration.

  • Karma Yoga – Commonly preferred by those with an active nature, Karma Yoga is the path of skillful action, where one acts selflessly without expectation or desire of fruits or rewards. Through the teachings of this Yoga, a person can learn the art of detachment, dedicating and devoting his actions to the Divine, and therefore eliminating the accumulation of karma. Karma, according to yogic lore, is what ultimately keeps us from uniting with the Divine.
  • Jnana Yoga – This is perhaps the most difficult path for a modern aspirant as it requires a high degree of intellectual interest and mental power. This path encourages the practitioner to use his own mind to discover the true nature of his mind. It can dissolve the veil of ignorance through knowledge itself, primarily knowledge of the Self.
  • Bhakti Yoga – Motivated by the power of devotional love, Bhakti Yoga brings one into a state of trance through prayer, kirtan, bhajans, worship, and ritual. It teaches a person to transform her emotions into pure unconditional love for the Divine and how to reach God through the heart.
  • Raja Yoga – This path is a more technical branch of Yoga, considered the Yoga of concentration and meditation, or the Yoga of the third eye. Various tools and techniques are used to train and tame the mind. It is considered the “royal road” among the four paths and can lead a devotee to samadhi, or enlightenment.

Raja Yoga is the most favored path, with an estimated 70 percent of spiritual seekers following this tradition today. Jnana Yoga has unfortunately declined by comparison and only appeals to perhaps 5 percent of modern spiritual aspirants, while Karma Yoga and Bhakti Yoga interest one out of every 10.

Other branches of Yoga, which come with long proven traditions in addition to the classical four, are Hatha Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, Laya Yoga, Tantra Yoga, and many more.


Tantra Yoga - the yoga of energy

6 Ways How Tantra Yoga Changes Your Life


Devotion to a Genuine Path

types of yoga - persistence and consistency are key on the yoga path
Regardless of the path you choose it is important to devote yourself fully to that path and to implement a consistent practice.

The first key to success is devoting yourself to teachings with not only traditional roots and genuine, verifiable results, but also choosing a path that harmonizes with your personal temperament.

In our school, the curriculum and teachings combine Tantra Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, and Hatha Yoga, as well as Raja Yoga, some Karma Yoga, and others.

Together, they embody a very potent and powerful path of evolution. The second (and more important) key to success is the actual practice. All Yoga is eminently practical and, without this, it is not alive or effective as a spiritual science within us and its results cannot be demonstrated.



kundalini yoga

When Are You Ready to Practice Kundalini Yoga?


Founder and Head Teacher

Spiritual yogi, lecturer, teacher and author, Somananda is the founder and head teacher of Somananda Tantra School.

Discover Authentic Yoga Here

Guided Tantra Yoga class at a yoga retreat
Asset 1

Tantra Yoga Level 1

True Tantra Starts Here

Level 1 of the Tantra Yoga Module is a powerful initiation into our energy-based meditative Yoga. In retreat you will learn and practice profound fundamentals of the Hatha Yoga system, Laya Yoga, Karma Yoga, Nidra Yoga, Kriya Yoga (the yoga of purification), and much more. Level 1 serves as an irreplaceable stepping stone and foundation to one’s spiritual growth.
Looking for more support on your path?
Looking for more support on your path?
Stay in touch and get notified of new articles, blogs and other news.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.